Frequently Asked Questions

Whether you are visiting Vaudrin Academy or another school, make sure you get the following information to determine what is best for your child:

What is the school’s philosophy and vision, and how it is achieved on a day-to-day basis?

Please see our Mission.

What is the school’s method of communication with the parents?

Depending on your child’s age and the information which needs to be conveyed, we use the student’s agenda, written letters, phone calls, email, the school portal, meetings, blogs, and teacher-parent conferences to communicate with parents.

What are the teachers’ qualifications and what type of professional development is offered to them?

Please see Our Team. At Vaudrin Academy, we have ongoing observation and evaluation of all staff members which also includes a section on self-evaluation and personal goals to reach. If a staff member needs help in any area, then we assist this person in reaching her goals.

What is the school’s curriculum? Does it follow, meet, or exceed the provincial Ministry of Education guidelines?

Please see our Program Overview. Of course we follow the Quebec Education Programme or else we would not have a permit. However, if a student is ready to move on in any particular subject, then we do not stop her from moving on to the next level. Students who have moved or gone on to high school have told us that they are easily able to follow all the subjects.

Where do the school’s students go after graduation?

All of our graduates have gone on to the private school or program of their choice after completing their studies with us. Since we are a relatively new school, some of our former students were only with us for one or two years.

Are there admission requirements such as entrance tests? How much emphasis is placed on the test if there is one?

We do not have an entrance test at Vaudrin Academy. After meeting with parents and looking at past results, we determine together if Vaudrin Academy is the best place for that particular student. The child then spends a day with us to make sure that he or she is comfortable at Vaudrin Academy. There is no point in forcing your child to go anywhere if he hates or fears that place. No learning can go on if a child feels this way.

What type of student is the school looking for?

We not only accept differences, we embrace them. As long as the child is able to and wants to follow the program and the parents are supportive of what the school is trying to do, then we can work wonders. If a student does not have a strong foundation, we may ask him or her to take remedial lessons or start the year over. Setting up a child for failure is very destructive to his or her self-esteem and future ability to succeed.

How does the school measure individual achievement and progress?

We only encourage students to compare themselves to their own abilities. Whatever a student does, we want him to do his best whether it be a social, an academic, or an athletic skill. Achievement and progress may be assessed through regular testing, self-evaluation, a personal portfolio or simply by performing a task. Students receive continuous feedback from the teachers in everything that they do. Parents receive four types of formal evaluations throughout the year, but they are quickly contacted if his child has a problem which needs immediate attention.

What is the school’s typical response to a child who is not meeting academic expectations or who has gaps in his or her learning?

When anyone is not performing as well as he or she should, the first thing we must look at is if this person’s primary and emotional needs are being met. In other words, maybe the child is sick or upset about something. Once we have eliminated these two factors, if the student still has difficulty following his classmates, then he is given an Individualized Education Program. This program is prepared with the student, all his teachers, the principal, the parents, and any other professional involved. Together, we look at the student’s strengths and needs, and we then come up with specific attainable goals. We continue to meet on a regular basis until the student is able to follow the rest of the group. This may include seeing a specialist, following a particular program, or receiving extra help.

What is the school’s homework policy?

Please see our section on homework.We used to have a section on homework on our old website. I don’t know where it is now.

What is the student-to-teacher ratio and the maximum class size?

Although it changes every year, our student-to-teacher ratio from kindergarten to grade 6 is usually ten to one. Our groups vary in size from 10 to 20. Because we only have one group per level, the maximum number of students in one class is 20. In our 3 year-old group, we never have more than eight students. In the 4 year-old groups, the maximum number of children we have is ten. (One word of advice if you visit other places, ask the students how many students are in their classes and how many teachers they have. For the pre-school level, count the pairs of shoes at any given time and the number of educators.)

What are the tuition fees and what do they include? Are there additional fees for other expenses such as uniforms, books, buses, technology fees or extracurricular activities?

Please see Admissions. In addition to the fees mentioned on our list, the students must also buy the school uniform. If a student wishes to participate in extracurricular activities, then the parents must pay for that particular service. Each student must also have his/her own iPad.

Is there a school uniform?

To encourage team spirit and decrease discrimination, students must wear an Academy Vaudrin uniform which includes navy blue pants, skorts, or shorts with one of the following tops: polo shirt, turtleneck, long-sleeved shirt, sweatshirt, and fleece jacket. We also have a gym uniform. All items are purchased through the school so parents do not have to drive anywhere.

Are there day care services before and after school?

School days begin at 8:30 and finish at 4:00. Parents may drop off their children starting at 8:15 and pick them up before 4:15. There is a 30-minute period for individual work, group projects, or reading between 3:30 and 4pm. Students who arrive before 8:15 AM or who leave after 4:15 PM need to register for the daycare services which are 100% eligible for tax credits. The daycare starts at 7 AM and ends at 6 PM. During pedagogical days, a daycare service is also offered at a cost of $35 per child from 8 AM until 5 PM.

Foire Aux Questions

Que vous visitiez l’Académie Vaudrin ou une autre école, assurez-vous d’obtenir l’information suivante pour déterminer ce qui est mieux pour votre enfant:

Quelles sont la philosophie et la vision de l’école et comment sont-elles appliquées quotidiennement?

Veuillez voir notre mission.

Comment l’école communique-t-elle avec les parents?

Selon l’âge de votre enfant et l’information qui doit être communiquée, nous utilisons l’agenda de l’élève, les lettres, les appels téléphoniques, les blogues, les courriels, le portail de l’école, les réunions et les rencontres enseignants/parents.

Quelles sont les compétences des enseignants et quel type de développement professionnel leur est-il offert?

Veuillez voir notre équipe. À l’Académie Vaudrin, tous les membres de notre personnel sont observés et évalués. Il y a aussi de l’autoévaluation et des buts personnels à atteindre. Si un membre du personnel a besoin d’aide sur un aspect particulier de son travail, nous l’aiderons à atteindre ses objectifs.

Quel est le curriculum de l’école? Est-ce qu’il suit, respecte ou dépasse les normes du ministère provincial de l’Éducation?

Veuillez voir notre programme. Bien sûr, nous suivons le Programme d’éducation du Québec afin de conserver notre permis. Toutefois, si un élève est prêt à progresser dans une matière donnée, nous ne l’empêcherons pas de monter au prochain niveau. Les élèves qui ont quitté notre école ou sont maintenant au secondaire affirment qu’ils peuvent facilement suivre toutes les matières.

Après avoir obtenu leur diplôme, où vont les élèves?

Tous nos diplômés se sont inscrits à une école privée ou à un programme de leur choix après avoir terminé leurs études chez nous. Comme nous sommes relativement une nouvelle école, certains de nos diplômés n’ont passé que quelques années chez nous.

Y a-t-il des exigences à l’admission, comme un examen? Le cas échéant, quelle est son importance?

L’Académie Vaudrin n’exige aucun examen d’admission. Après avoir rencontré les parents et examiné les résultats courants, on détermine, ensemble, si l’Acadeémie Vaudrin est la meilleure école pour l’élève. Ensuite, l’enfant passe une journée avec nous pour s’assurer qu’il est à l’aise dans notre école. Il ne faut jamais forcer un enfant à fréquenter une école qu’il déteste ou craint. Dans un tel cas, l’enfant n’apprendra jamais.

Quel type d’élève l’école recherche-t-elle?

Non seulement nous acceptons les différences, mais en plus, nous les encourageons. Tant que l’enfant peut et veut suivre le programme et que les parents appuient ce que l’école tente de faire, nous pouvons presque faire des miracles. Si l’élève n’a pas de bonnes bases, il faudra peut-être lui demander de suivre des cours de rattrapage ou encore de reprendre son année. Si on ne met pas toutes les chances du côté de l’élève, on risque de miner sa confiance et de réduire sa capacité de réussir à l’avenir.

Comment l’école mesure-t-elle les progrès et les succès individuels?

Nous encourageons vivement les élèves à se comparer à leurs propres aptitudes. Peu importe ce que fait un élève, nous voulons qu’il fasse de son mieux, qu’il s’agisse d’une aptitude sociale, scolaire ou athlétique. Le succès et les progrès peuvent être évalués par des tests courants, l’autoévaluation, un portfolio personnel ou tout simplement en effectuant une tâche. Les élèves reçoivent constamment des commentaires de leurs enseignants sur tout ce qu’ils font. Les parents, eux, reçoivent quatre évaluations formelles durant l’année. Toutefois, l’école communique avec eux sans tarder si l’enfant éprouve un problème qui exige une attention immédiate.

Typiquement, que fait l’école lorsqu’un enfant n’atteint pas les attentes scolaires ou éprouve des problèmes d’apprentissage?

Lorsque le rendement d’un élève n’est pas à son niveau attendu, nous examinons tout d’abord les besoins primaires et émotifs de cet élève. En d’autres mots, cet enfant est peut-être malade ou éprouve des inquiètudes. Une fois ces facteurs éliminés, si l’élève a encore de la difficulté à suivre ses camarades de classe, nous lui préparons un programme d’enseignement individualisé. Ce programme est élaboré en collaboration avec l’élève, tous ses enseignants, la direction, les parents et tout autre professionnel, s’il y a lieu. Ensemble, nous examinons les forces et les besoins de l’élève avant d’établir des objectifs précis réalisables. Nous continuons de nous rencontrer régulièrement jusqu’à ce que l’élève puisse suivre le reste de la classe. Ceci peut inclure une visite chez un specialiste, un programme spécialisé ou de l’aide supplémentaire.

Quelle est la politique de l’école sur les devoirs à la maison?

Veuillez voir notre section sur les devoirs.

Quel est le rapport enseignant/élèves et le nombre maximum d’élèves par classe?

Même si ces chiffres varient d’une année à l’autre, notre rapport enseignant/élèves de la maternelle à la 6e année est de 1 à 10, en général. La taille de nos groupes varie de 10 à 20. Puisque nous n’avons qu’un groupe par niveau, le nombre maximum d’élèves dans une classe est 20. Dans notre groupe d’élèves âgés de 3 ans, nous n’avons jamais plus que 8 élèves. Dans le groupe de 4 ans, le nombre maximum est de 10. (Un conseil, si vous visitez d’autres écoles: demandez aux élèves combien il y a d’élèves dans leur classe et le nombre d’enseignants qu’ils ont. Au niveau préscolaire, comptez le nombre de paires de souliers à tout moment et le nombre d’éducateurs.)

Quels sont les frais de scolarité et que comprennent-ils? Y a-t-il des frais additionnels pour d’autres choses comme: uniformes, livres, transport, frais de technologie ou activités parascolaires?

Veuillez voir la section Admission. Outre les frais mentionnés dans notre liste, les élèves doivent aussi acheter l’uniforme de l’école. Si un élève désire participer à des activités parascolaires, les parents doivent alors payer les frais de ces services. Chaque étudiant doit avoir son propre iPad.

Y a-t-il un uniforme d’école?

Pour encourager l’esprit d’équipe et réduire la discrimination, les élèves doivent porter l’uniforme de l’Académie Vaudrin qui comporte un pantalon, une jupe et/ou un short marine et un des vêtements suivants: chemise polo, col roulé, chemise à manches longues, chandail en molleton et blouson molletonné marine. Nous avons aussi un uniforme d’éducation physique. Tous les vêtements sont achetés par l’entremise de l’école pour éviter le déplacement des parents.

Y a-t-il un service de garde avant et après l’école?

Les cours débutent à 8 h 30 et se terminent à 16 h. Les élèves peuvent arriver à partir de 8 h 15 et quitter à 16 h 15. Entre 15 h 30 et 16 h, il ya une période de 30 minutes pour le travail individuel, les projets de groupes ou de la lecture. Les élèves qui arrivent avant 8 h 15 et partent après 16 h 15 doivent s’inscrire au service de garde qui est éligible à 100% pour crédits d’impôts. Le service de garde débute à 7 h et se termine à 18 h. Il y a également un service de garde pendant les journées pédagogiques de 8 h à 17 h à raison de 35$ par jour.